Art Gilmore
PPB Founding President
Pacific Pioneer Broadcasters was founded in 1966 by announcer Art Gilmore and a group of 178 original members. Edgar Bergen (Charlie McCarthy) was the founding Chairman of the Board. Jim Jordan (Fibber McGee) was the second Chairman followed by Ralph Edwards, the third Chairman. Jeanne DeVivier Brown is the current Chairman of the Board.

Unchanged from its original concept, PPB hosts four celebrity luncheons a year at AirTel Plaza Hotel, Van Nuys, where men and women with at least 10 years of professional employment in Radio and Television Broadcasting or allied fields join together to renew old friendships, meet new members and honor fellow pioneer broadcasters for their achievements. The person being honored at each luncheon is presented PPB's coveted Art Gilmore Career Achievement Award, and well-known entertainment personalities recall some of their most amusing memories of the honoree.

'Shotgun Tom' Kelly

Over the years, PPB has accumulated one of the largest collections of scripts, quality transcriptions of radio programs and broadcast equipment in existence. This irreplaceable material is now in the care of California's Thousand Oaks Library in its future American Radio Archives Building. That ambitious project is seeking funding for what will be a beautiful new building housing America's most-extensive radio memorabilia.

• Current Officers

• Board of Directors

• Past Presidents

© copyright 2019
all rights reserved
site design 
iNet // Web Solutions 
 October 15, 2019